Return to Briefings
PPR

PP-R Pipe SONCAP Certification for Nigeria: Who Files What, and When

Transmission Date09/04/2026
PP-R Pipe SONCAP Certification for Nigeria: Who Files What, and When

Who files what for SONCAP on a PP-R container to Nigeria: Product Certificate, Shipment Certificate, Form M order. SON fees and the 2026 NSW migration.

PP-R pipe is a SONCAP-regulated import. Everything not on SON’s published exemption list is regulated, and pipe is not on that list. So clearing a container of PP-R at Apapa needs two certificates, not one. The Product Certificate (PC) is applied for by your Chinese supplier, is issued in his name, and must exist before your bank opens the Form M. The SONCAP Certificate (SC) is issued to you, the importer, after the Form M is approved, and it is what your agent feeds into PAAR. The binding constraint is timing: SON states plainly that SONCAP “cannot be processed after the consignment has left the country of origin.” A container that sails without an SC becomes a SONCAP Default, charged at 20 % of CIF or ₦2 million, whichever is higher.

Key takeaways

  • Two certificates, two different owners. The PC belongs to the exporter and unlocks the Form M; the SC belongs to the importer and unlocks PAAR. Only your supplier can start the first.
  • Two deadlines, both at departure. SON will not process SONCAP once the goods leave the country of origin, and PAAR applications “must be carried out at the time of departure” — a PAAR filed after the container lands is itself a default.
  • SON’s fee schedule is public: PC1 $500, PC2 $1,000, PC3 $2,000, SC $350 per certificate. Inspection and test charges sit on top and are quoted case by case.
  • Since 27 March 2026 the paperwork moved. Accredited firms still generate certificates on the SON Portal, but activation for Form M, PAAR and clearance now happens on the National Single Window at nsw.gov.ng.
  • Resale stock cannot use an Import Permit. SON restricts that to manufacturers’ own inputs; goods for resale must go the SONCAP Product Certification route.
  • Best for importers booking their first or second PP-R container into Nigeria. Not for local manufacturers, whose scheme is MANCAP.

Is PP-R Pipe Actually a SONCAP-Regulated Product?

Most first-time importers get this wrong: they look for “PP-R pipe” on a list of regulated products and cannot find it. The search is backwards, because the scheme is defined by exclusion: Cotecna, one of SON’s accredited firms, states that “All products, other than those specifically exempted in the list below, are regulated under the SONCAP programme.” SON’s exemption list is short — food products, medicines and medical items other than equipment and machines, chemicals used as raw material by bona fide manufacturers, contraband, and used products other than automobiles. Plastic plumbing pipe appears nowhere in it. Your PP-R is regulated, and so are the fittings and valves in the same container.

Two consequences follow. First, the classification has to match across every document. PP-R pipe sits under HS heading 39.17 and specifically subheading 3917.22, “Of polymers of propylene”, with fittings under 3917.40. SON names mismatch as a cause of PAAR rejection: “HS code and number of items approved for the PC differ from that now being declared during PAAR activation.” If the PC says 3917.22 and your agent declares something else to save duty, the PAAR fails and the container sits — see our note on the HS code for PP-R pipe.

Second, SONCAP is not MANCAP. SON defines MANCAP as the programme “to which all locally manufactured products in Nigeria must comply”; SONCAP is the off-shore scheme for imports. A supplier who offers you a MANCAP document is stalling.

The Two Certificates, and Who Owns Each One

The two certificates go to two different parties, in two different countries, at two different moments — and most delay in this scheme is one side waiting on the other without knowing it. The Product Certificate is the exporter’s document; Cotecna is explicit that he receives it because “only his details are stated on the certificate”. It comes in three grades depending on how the supplier is set up with the certification body, and the grade sets both the cost and how many shipments it carries. The SONCAP Certificate is yours: SON defines it as the document “used to process the PAAR for the clearance of goods from any Nigerian port”, issued to one importer for one consignment.

SONCAP documents for a PP-R shipment: who applies, when, and what happens without it
Document Who applies Must exist by Validity (months) Without it
PC1 — Product Certificate, Unregistered (Route A)Exporter (your factory)Before you open Form M6, single useBank cannot open the Form M
PC2 — Registered (Route B)ExporterBefore you open Form M12, multiple useEvery repeat order restarts at Route A
PC3 — Licensed (Route C)Exporter, after factory auditBefore you open Form M12, multiple usePer-shipment testing stays in your lead time
SC — SONCAP CertificateImporter (you), via the same firmAfter Form M approval, before the vessel sailsConsignment-specific — one PAAR, one entity; SON publishes no SC validitySONCAP Default: 20 % CIF or ₦2m, whichever is higher
SONCAP Import PermitManufacturer, for own inputs onlyn/a to trading stockPer SON approvalNot a route for resale goods at all
Source: Standards Organisation of Nigeria, SONCAP FAQ and SONCAP service pages; Cotecna Nigeria (a SON-accredited firm), certification routes. Validity and penalty figures as published by SON.

The Seven Steps SON Publishes, in Order

SON publishes the sequence itself, which beats any consultant’s summary because it is the order the system enforces. It starts before either certificate: activate your FIRS Tax Identification Number on the national trade portal, which SON names as “one of the key requirements for processing SONCAP and Import Permits”. Importers without one find out at step one, deposit already paid.

The seven SONCAP steps as published by SON, split by which side of vessel departure each falls on Before or at vessel departure After arrival in Nigeria 1  Activate FIRS TIN on trade.gov.ng 2  Product Certificate exporter, via an IAF 3  CBN Form M importer, PC attached 4  SONCAP Cert. importer, same IAF 5  NCS PAAR at time of departure 6  NCS SGD customs declaration 7  SON Port & Border release consignment leaves the port Two departure deadlines, not one. SONCAP “cannot be processed after the consignment has left the country of origin.” PAAR applications “must be carried out at the time of departure” — filing after arrival is itself a default.
SON’s own published order. Five of the seven steps, PAAR included, belong on the departure side of the line; only the customs declaration and the port release happen after arrival.

Steps three and four are yours: you open the Form M through an Authorised Dealer Bank and you request the SC. Your supplier controls step two, and everything else waits on it — which is why the question to put to a Chinese PP-R factory is never “do you have SONCAP” but “which firm holds your Product Certificate, what route is it, and when does it expire”.

What Changed on 27 March 2026

If you last imported before 2026, part of your routine is now wrong. SON issued a public notice confirming that effective 27 March 2026, applications for Import Permits (Product and Shipment Certificates) and SONCAP Defaults must be “initiated and processed exclusively on the National Single Window website” at nsw.gov.ng, and that it will no longer process these documents through independent channels.

The nuance matters to every PP-R importer, since all of them use a certification firm. The notice keeps issuance where it was — “the generation of SONCAP Product and Shipment Certificates by our accredited partners shall continue to be performed on the SON Portal” — but moves the next step: “the activation of these certificates for the purpose of Form M, PAAR, and cargo clearance must be completed on the National Single Window (NSW) platform.” A certificate that exists but has not been activated on NSW will not carry your container through PAAR. Update your NSW profile before you place the order, not while the vessel is at sea.

What It Costs and How Long It Takes

SON publishes its own charges, which lets you check what an agent quotes you. What it does not publish is what the certification firm charges for inspection, stuffing supervision and testing, or what a Chinese lab charges for the reports behind the PC. Those are quoted per case. Treat any all-in figure offered without a breakdown as a number to question.

SON’s published SONCAP charges and stated turnaround times
Item SON fee (USD) SON stated turnaround Who normally carries it
Product Certificate 1 (Unregistered)50096 h, or 24 h if documents completeExporter
Product Certificate 2 (Registered)1,00096 h, or 24 h if documents completeExporter
Product Certificate 3 (Licensed)2,00096 h, or 24 h if documents completeExporter
SONCAP Certificate, per certificate35096 h, or 24 h if documents completeImporter
Certificate amendment100Not statedWhoever caused the error
Non-conformity report350Not statedExporter
Source: Standards Organisation of Nigeria, SONCAP FAQ and “How much does it cost to apply for SONCAP Product certificate?”. Inspection, stuffing supervision and laboratory testing are charged separately by the accredited firm and are not published — ask for those in writing before you commit.

The 24-to-96-hour figure describes certificate generation, not the whole job. What takes weeks precedes it: getting test reports issued or reissued to the right standard, scheduling the inspection, and stuffing the container under supervision on Route A. Budget for that, not the SON clock. The Form M itself has room — valid 180 days, extendable a further 180 by the Authorised Dealer Bank — so it is rarely the constraint.

The Point of No Return, and What It Costs to Cross It

One sentence from SON’s FAQ should govern how you plan the shipment: “The SONCAP is an offshore and pre-shipment certification scheme, thus, cannot be processed after the consignment has left the country of origin.” There is no retrospective SC. Once the vessel sails, only the penalty route remains.

The same clock governs the customs side, which is where most agents get caught. SON states that “all Pre-Arrival Assessment Report Applications must be carried out at the time of departure of consignments to Nigeria”, and that “any application for PAAR for goods already at Nigerian Ports and Borders will be termed as default and penalized accordingly”. PAAR is not an arrival formality. Your agent should be filing it while the ship is loading, not when it berths at Apapa.

The penalty is published. A default is “charged at 20 % CIF of the consignment or 2 million Naira, whichever is higher”. The naira floor only bites on very small consignments; at container scale the 20 % figure always governs, and it sits on top of demurrage and container detention accruing daily while the default is processed. SONCAP Defaults are themselves one of the document types SON moved to the National Single Window in March 2026.

Where each SONCAP document has to land on a PP-R container timeline PC issued exporter + IAF Form M you + bank, 180 days SC issued after inspection PAAR filed at time of departure Release at Apapa SGD, then SON at the port VESSEL SAILS point of no return Missing either one by here = 20 % of CIF or ₦2m, whichever is higher Four documents, one deadline
The whole problem in one line: four documents must be finished left of the departure marker. Nothing right of it can be repaired, only paid for.

The Split Your Certification Body Will Not Explain

Certification bodies describe their own process well and stop at the edge of it. What they leave out is which deliverables belong to the factory and which to you — the split where first shipments go wrong. The factory owns the evidence that the product conforms; you own the evidence that you may import it. Neither side can produce the other’s half.

Who owes what on a PP-R container, and when to ask for it
Deliverable Whose job Ask for it at What it fails on
Test reports from an ISO/IEC 17025 accredited laboratoryFactoryQuotation stageReports from a non-accredited lab, or expired
Declared standard on the report and on the print line — normally ISO 15874-2 or DIN 8077/8078FactoryQuotation stagePipe marked to a standard the report does not cover
HS code per line item, agreed in writingBothProforma invoicePC code ≠ PAAR declaration → PAAR rejected
Name of the accredited firm and PC route the factory usesFactoryBefore depositTwo firms in the chain, duplicated fees
Active FIRS TIN and NSW profileYouBefore the orderSONCAP cannot be processed at all
e-Form M with the PC attachedYou, via your bankAs soon as the PC landsOpened without the PC, or values that do not match
Final invoice, packing list and draft bill of lading to the firmFactory, from your Form MAt stuffing; final B/L as soon as issuedQuantities differ from the Form M
Source: compiled from SON’s published SONCAP steps and FAQ, and Cotecna Nigeria’s Route A requirements (inspection, sampling and acceptance of ISO/IEC 17025 test reports). SON describes the scheme as “ensuring that regulated products comply with the NIS or approved international standards prior to export to Nigeria”, and publishes no NIS designation for PP-R pipe — which is why reports issued to ISO 15874-2 or DIN 8077/8078 are what Chinese factories normally present. Confirm the exact reference with your firm.

The Checklist to Send Before the Deposit Moves

All of it collapses into six questions. Send them in writing and keep the reply — it is what you point at if a shipment stalls.

Send this to your PP-R supplier before you pay

  1. Which of SON’s accredited firms do you work with for SONCAP, and do you hold a PC1, PC2 or PC3?
  2. If you hold a PC2 or PC3, send the certificate number and expiry date, and confirm it covers the exact SKUs on my proforma.
  3. Which laboratory issued your test reports, and is it ISO/IEC 17025 accredited? Send the report and the accreditation scope.
  4. Which standard are the test reports and the print line issued to — ISO 15874-2, DIN 8077/8078, or both — and do the two match?
  5. Confirm the HS code per line item — 3917.22 for PP-R pipe, 3917.40 for fittings — and that it will be identical on the PC, the Form M and the packing list.
  6. Who applies for the SC, and at what point do you need my approved Form M in order to start?

Question two separates suppliers. A factory shipping regularly to Nigeria already holds a registered or licensed Product Certificate covering its PP-R range, and your first order rides on it. A factory new to Nigeria starts you at Route A, where Cotecna requires physical inspection and samples “drawn by Cotecna during the inspection of the shipment” — more cost, more weeks, every shipment, until a registration is built. If you are still comparing quotes, IFAN’s PP-R supply page sets out the range and declared standards a certification firm will ask to see. Our document checklist for pipe imports and the walkthrough on importing PP-R into Nigeria cover what sits either side of SONCAP.

Ask the six questions before the deposit, not after the booking

IFAN has manufactured piping systems since 1993 and exports to 120+ countries: 3,000+ PP-R SKUs, DN20–DN160, PN12.5–PN25, 100 % virgin PP-R, and a batch certificate with every production lot. Regional certifications including SONCAP are applied for as required.

See the supply terms

One caveat: a licensed Product Certificate makes shipping easier but says nothing about the compound in the pipe — it confirms the tested samples met the standard, not that every metre in your container did. Run material and dimensional checks separately; the certification landscape for PP-R pipe explains which marks mean what.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is a SONCAP certificate in Nigeria?

SON publishes $350 per SONCAP Certificate. The Product Certificate that must precede it is $500 for PC1, $1,000 for PC2 and $2,000 for PC3. Inspection, stuffing supervision and laboratory testing are billed separately by the accredited firm.

How do I get a SONCAP certificate?

In SON’s published order: activate your FIRS TIN, then have the exporter obtain the Product Certificate through an accredited firm. Open the CBN Form M with that PC attached, request the SONCAP Certificate through the same firm before the vessel sails, and attach it to your PAAR application.

How do I activate my SONCAP product certificate?

Since 27 March 2026, activation for Form M, PAAR and cargo clearance must be completed on the National Single Window at nsw.gov.ng, even though accredited firms still generate the certificates on the SON Portal. Update your NSW profile before you need it.

Does PP-R pipe need SONCAP certification?

Yes. SONCAP works by exclusion: everything not on SON’s exemption list is regulated, and SON’s list covers food, medicines, raw-material chemicals, contraband and used goods — not plastic pipe. Fittings and valves are regulated too.

Who applies for the SONCAP certificate, the supplier or the importer?

Both, at different stages. The exporter applies for the Product Certificate and it carries his details. The SC is issued to the importer and limited to a single PAAR consignment and a single entity, so it cannot be shared between two buyers.

Can I get a SONCAP certificate after my container has shipped?

No. SON states SONCAP “cannot be processed after the consignment has left the country of origin”. Goods arriving without it are treated as a SONCAP Default and charged at 20 % of CIF value or ₦2 million, whichever is higher.

Can I use a SONCAP Import Permit instead of certification?

Not for trading stock. SON restricts the Import Permit to manufacturers’ raw materials, packaging and machinery, and states that “all commercial items and articles for subsequent sale and distribution are to be processed through the SONCAP Product certification route”.

Sources